He Says: Popeye knows what’s up

Popeye really did know what to eat to get big and buff. Spinach is one of the super foods that I’m a huge fan of. I generally enjoy most of the foods that are good for you, but I also enjoy some that aren’t. My problem is portion control and finding the time to cook healthy.

Here’s a recipe for Spinach Turkey Burgers, chock full of super food: spinach, avocado and tomato.  Usually I add a little bit of pepper and a dash of salt if I’m not using any sauce.

I prefer to drink water with my meals but usually drink a beer while cooking. Bottoms up and enjoy.

Ingredients

–   One (20-oz) package 93 percent lean ground turkey (preferably breast meat)

–  Fresh spinach chopped into small pieces, about 7-9 leaves per burger patty
–   One small ripe avocado, sliced or diced
–   One ripe tomato
–   Optional: Hot sauce or other spicy sauce.
–   Optional: One packet taco seasoning mix
Mix together ground turkey, spinach and taco seasoning with hands until blened. Form burger mixture into 5 patties. Preheat large skillet over medium-high heat. Coat grill/pan with nonstick cooking spray and add burgers. Cook 6-8 minutes per side, or until burgers are no longer pink in the center. Makes 5 patties.
This entry was posted in Cooking, His Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to He Says: Popeye knows what’s up

  1. Elizabeth says:

    He and She,

    Keep the simple recipes coming! I frequently find myself in an eating rut. I buy the same 10 things every week and eat the same three meals way too much. I was happy to read about the flat tacos and Popeye Burger. One, because they sound scrum-diddly-umptious, and two because the limited number of ingredients will fit into my area of the frig. I will be back for more.

    Ideas for my sack lunch?

Leave a Reply

