He Says: Rewards Are So Sweet

Speaking of  motivation . . . rewards are a great motivation!  I always love a tasty dinner and sometimes I like to indulge in a favorite,  even if it’s not so healthy. Using portion control for “cheat meals” is how I reward myself for working hard.

Tonight’s dinner was BBQ baby back pork loin ribs with a side of rice. Ribs are pretty simple to cook and are one of my favorites but are a little high in saturated fat. But, its hard to beat ribs and a cold beer on a hot summer night.

Finger Lickin' Good

My recipe for those interested:
Costco sells ribs  (fresh and the best price around.)

I take the ribs and season with a little bit pepper, salt, garlic and some cajun seasoning that I bought in New Orleans. I flash cook the ribs at 500 degrees to try to trap the flavor and juices inside. Then I remove the ribs from the oven and double wrap in tin foil. Turn the over down to 170 and let the ribs slow cook for about 3-4 hours. Any shorter and they are still tough, any longer and they are hard to handle and they can start to dry out. Once removed from the oven, I brush the ribs with a BBQ sauce and then toss on the barbecue to get the flavor and to carmelize the sauce a little. This is about the time when I crack a nice cold beer and wait the 10 minutes for the ribs to finish. I serve ribs with vegetables and rice.

Watch your portions, too many ribs will stick to yours!

This entry was posted in Cooking, His Posts, Motivation. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to He Says: Rewards Are So Sweet

  1. Ribs sound so good right now.

    I like how drinking a beer is part of the directions. My kind of recipe!

Leave a Reply

